Call Us: 020 8662 8400
Planning on visiting us? Please book an appointment prior to travelling.

Quartet in A Major for Four Flutes

You currently have cookies turned off in your browser. You won't be able to place an order until you turn them back on.
  • Staff Pick

Staff Pick

“Just the piece!”

Chris Hankin Just Flutes staff member - [email protected]
It's so great to have a piece of Richard Strauss to play, even if it is an early and relatively unknown work in an arrangement. You will need stamina and concentration to play all four movements but all the Strauss loveliness is there to admire and savour. This is just the piece for a friendly get-together of like-minded players with perhaps a glass of something to revive the embouchure mid way!

From the Publisher

This quartet is an arrangement of Richard Strauss’ string quartet; an early work (1881), but one that he thought enough of to have published with an official opus number. The String Quartet, not unlike the D Minor Symphony and Piano Sonata Op. 5 of the same period, reveals the young composer’s devotion to the Viennese masters, and Haydn in particular. The piece is written in a standard four-movement form — Allegro, Scherzo, Andante cantabile, and Finale: Allegro vivace — with the outer movements bearing most of the compositional weight. Strauss uses sonata form in the first movement, and while the Quartet shows his early training in the Classical aesthetic, it is nonetheless a Straussian work in several respects: instrumental colour is granted particular importance, the texture is frequently light and contrapuntal, and the melodies are lively and lyrical. Moreover, the inner voices participate with uncharacteristic significance in the weaving of the work’s contrapuntal textures. This is a full arrangement of the quartet, and as such the first and last movements in particular are lengthy and complex. The first flute carries a lot of the melodic passage work in the outer movements particularly, and will require strong technique and stamina to perform effectively. All parts participate in the contrapuntal nature of the music; the alto and bass flutes also have melodic solos particularly in the slow movement.

Performance duration (approx): 27'

Difficulty guide: 7-8
Difficulty level, roughly compared to ABRSM exam grades. 0 is total beginner, 9 is advanced (beyond grade 8).


  1. Allegro
  2. Scherzo
  3. Andante cantabile, molto espressivo
  4. Allegro vivace

Item Details


  • Part 1: Flute
  • Part 2: Flute
  • Part 3: Alto Flute
  • Part 4: Bass Flute
Category: Flute Quartet Music: Four Mixed Flutes
Publisher: Forton Music
Publisher's reference: FM884
Our Stock Code: 1472776
Media Type: Paperback - Score and parts (20 pages [score])

20% off selected Boosey & Hawkes music20% off selected Boosey & Hawkes music

20% off Kevin Mayhew books20% off Kevin Mayhew books