Our showroom is open for instrument sales by appointment.
Book an in-store or video consultation
Call Us: 020 8662 8400


Pictures of Childhood


Approved Exam Music

Recommended for the following exam grade(s):

ABRSM exam syllabus

From the Publisher

This work consists of four melodic pieces inspired by the infant children of friends of the composer. They are written in an uncomplicated melodic style which evokes of the innocence of childhood, and are pleasing to perform and to listen to. 'Lullaby for Laura' did its job when, on hearing it for the first time, Laura fell asleep in her mother's arms. 'Tallulah's Tune' is based on the rhythm of her name. 'Poppy's Waltz' was inspired by a neighbour's little blonde girl in her garden, and 'Keris Mae' was introduced to the composer in a playground, hence the playful nature of her piece. They were premiered in London by Rachel Smith, a regular interpreter of Lewis's music, accompanied by Rachel Fryer on the 1st August 2005. For secondary schools, colleges, conservatories and professionals.

Performance duration (approx): 12'05


  • Lullaby for Laura
  • Tallulah's Tune
  • Poppy's Waltz
  • Keris Mae

Item Details


  • Part 1: Flute
  • Part 2: Piano
Category: Contemporary Flute and Piano Music
Publisher: Broadbent & Dunn
Publisher's reference: B&D13213
Our Stock Code: 1402711
Media Type: Paperback (24 pages [score])