Call Us: 020 8662 8400
Planning on visiting us? Please book an appointment prior to travelling.

Old Scots Tunes for Flute/Violin/Oboe/Treble Recorder and Basso Continuo

You currently have cookies turned off in your browser. You won't be able to place an order until you turn them back on.
  • Interesting, worth a look

From the Publisher

Francesco Maria Barsanti was born in 1690 in Lucca. In 1724 he moved to England, living first in London and from 1735–1743 in Edinburgh, where his Old Scots Tunes were published in 1742. He later moved back to London where he died in 1775. Barsanti was highly esteemed as a composer, instrumental teacher, instrumentalist and copyist.

The special charm of the Old Scots Tunes in Barsanti’s version lies in the contrast between the original Scottish song melodies and the artful basso continuo added by Barsanti, which is contrapuntal in part, but always feels very natural. Each of the 30 pieces contained in this work is a jewel in itself and well worth extra study. Each song leaves room for the player’s own ideas in the form of an introduction, improvisations and interludes.

The new edition by Girolamo takes into account the findings gained from the latest research on this composer. It is distinguished by excellently readable notation, a separate playing score for melody instrument and bass – which considerably facilitates making music together compared to playing from individual parts – as well as a professional but easily playable basso continuo realisation. Without a doubt: charming music that will enchant an audience.

Difficulty guide: 5-7
Difficulty level, roughly compared to ABRSM exam grades. 0 is total beginner, 9 is advanced (beyond grade 8).


  • Dumbarton's Drums
  • Kat Oggie 
  • Ettrick Banks
  • Lochaber
  • The Lass of Peatie's mill 
  • The Highland Laddie
  • Busk ye busk ye my bonny bride
  • The last time I came o'er the moor 
  • Corn riggs are bonny 
  • Waly Waly 
  • Johnny Faa
  • Lord Aboyne's welcome or Cumbernauld house
  • The Bush aboon Traquair 
  • To danton me 
  • The Birks of Envermay
  • Fife and all the Lands about it
  • Peggy I must love thee
  • Logan water
  • Pinkie House
  • The Sutours of Selkirk
  • Cromlet's Lilt
  • Bonny Jean
  • Thro' the Wood Laddie
  • Clout the Caldron
  • O dear Mother, what shall I do
  • Broom of Corvden knons
  • Where Helen lies
  • The bonny Earl of Murray
  • Gilderoy
  • The Mill Mill_O

Item Details


  • Part 1: Flute or Violin or Oboe
  • Part 2: Basso continuo
Category: British Folk Flute Music
Publisher: Girolamo Musikverlag
Publisher's reference: G 21.009
Our Stock Code: 1501186
Media Type: Paperback - Score and parts (28 pages [score])

20% off Novello music20% off Novello music