Call Us: 020 8662 8400
Planning on visiting us? Please book an appointment prior to travelling.
** Royal Mail international shipments are subject to delays. If you require your order urgently please select an alternative shipping carrier.**

Octet for Flutes

You currently have cookies turned off in your browser. You won't be able to place an order until you turn them back on.
  • Highly recommended

From the Publisher

Ketil Hvoslef (born 1939) studied the viola and organ at the Music Conservatory in Bergen, from which he graduated as an organist in 1962. Hvoslef continued his composition studies, first in Stockholm with Karl-Birger Blomdahl and Ingvar Lidholm, and later in London with Thomas Rajna and Henri   Lazarof. From 1963-79 he taught ear training and theory at the Music Conservatory in Bergen. 

Hvoslef is a versatile composer, his production consisting for the most part of instrumental compositions. It is difficult to classify his compositorical style because it differs with the task he is solving and the instruments he is writing for. His style has evolved from an almost neo-classical mode of expression to an intensely personal musical language, characterised by great rhythmic ingenuity. 

Hvoslef made his debut as a composer in 1964 with Concertino for Piano and Orchestra. Amongst other compositions one could mention the symphonic poem Mi-Fi-Li, a series of solo concertos for piano, trumpet, double bass, bassoon, two for violin, two for cello, a double concerto for flute and guitar, a triple concerto for violin, cello and piano and large orchestral, a concerto for saxophone quartet and orchestra, in addition to orchestral works such as Concertino for Orchestra, Antigone and Il compleanno, the latter was written for the 220th anniversary of the Bergen Philharmonic Orchestra. 

Of his chamber music important works like Kvartoni, Clarinet Quintet, Sextet for Flute and Percussion, Serenata per archi and String Quartet No.III should be mentioned. His work also contains a number of works for solo instruments,among others five large works for organ, as well as music for the stage and TV productions. 

Ketil Hvoslef has received the prize "Work of the Year" from the Norwegian Society of Composers four times: In 1978 for Concert for Choir and Chamber Orchestra, in 1980 for Concertino for Orchestra, in 1985 for Il compleanno and in 1992 for Serenata per archi. He was composer in residence at the Bergen International Festival in 1990.

This publication was made possible by support of the Norwegian Society of Composers.

Performance duration (approx): 10'20''

Difficulty guide: 8
Difficulty level, roughly compared to ABRSM exam grades. 0 is total beginner, 9 is advanced (beyond grade 8).

Item Details


  • Part 1: Flute
  • Part 2: Flute
  • Part 3: Flute
  • Part 4: Flute
  • Part 5: Flute
  • Part 6: Flute
  • Part 7: Flute
  • Part 8: Flute
Category: Flute Choir Music: 6 C Flutes
Publisher: Edition Svitzer
Our Stock Code: 1317626
Media Type: Paperback - Score and parts (16 pages [score])

Don't Dream. Play - 12 months' 0% Finance on Selected FlutesDon't Dream. Play - 12 months' 0% Finance on Selected Flutes

20% off all Chester titles20% off all Chester titles