Our showroom is open for instrument sales by appointment.
Book an in-store or video consultation
Call Us: 020 8662 8400


Octet, Op20


From the Publisher

Saxophone Octet SSAATTBB. A complete arrangement of Mendelssohns String Octet for eight saxophones (double quartet). This is an early work by Mendelssohn, but displays all the features for which he is best known. Delightful melodies, playful counterpoint and wide ranging use of keys all keep the interest of both the listener and player through this large scale piece. In four movements, the first is by far the longest lasting about 15 minutes. Syncopated rhythms and a wide ranging tune give this a sense of urgency and excitement. The second movement is slower, but features intricate rhythms in all parts. The third movement is a Scherzo reminiscent of the music Mendelssohn was to write for The Midsummer Nights Dream, requiring agility from all players. The fourth movement is marked Presto, and is based upon contrapuntal entries which work their way up from second baritone sax to first soprano interspersed with unison sections. An exciting end, and a great way for two saxophone quartets to combine and end a concert. Not an easy play by any means, but well worth the work
Difficulty guide: 0-4
Difficulty level, roughly compared to ABRSM exam grades. 0 is beginner, 9 is advanced (beyond grade 8).

Item Details

Category: Saxophone Choir (5+ Saxes)
Publisher: Forton Music
Publisher's reference: FM092
Our Stock Code: 1408881
Media Type: Paperback