Call Us: 020 8662 8400
Planning on visiting us? Instrument trials by appointment only: book an appointment

Obsession for Solo Flute

You currently have cookies turned off in your browser. You won't be able to place an order until you turn them back on.
  • Interesting, worth a look

From the Publisher

Eugene Ysaye (1858-1931) is considered to be one of the greatest violinists of all time. When physical ailments forced him to stop playing, Ysaye turned to conducting and composition. Among his most famous works are the six Sonatas for Solo Violin Op 27 which he composed in 1923. The second sonata, Obsession, begins by quoting the well-known opening measures of JS Bach's Partita in E major BWV 1006. Ysaye then introduces the age-old Dies Irae sequence from a medieval Requiem Mass with great impact throughout the work. Helene Schulthess adapted the first movement of Obsession, which has no double-stops, for flute. The arrangement was first played publicly on 19th October 2014 in the Giacometti Hall in Zurich.

Performance duration (approx): 4'00

Difficulty guide: 9
Difficulty level, roughly compared to ABRSM exam grades. 0 is beginner, 9 is advanced (beyond grade 8).

Item Details


  • Part 1: Flute
Category: Solo Flute Repertoire
Publisher: Edition Kossack
Publisher's reference: EK20180
Our Stock Code: 1434675
Media Type: Paperback (4 pages [score])