Our showroom is now open by appointment only.
Book a shop appointment or video consultation
Call Us: 020 8662 8400


Nonsense! [Flute Quartet and Narrator]


From the Publisher

Six of Edward Lear's Nonsense poems are set here for advanced Quartet with Narrator. The essential character of each limerick is captured in half a dozen short movements, featuring a brute of a bee, a mean harpist, a sentimental waltzing bluebottle, a lady with a fly-away bonnet, a man dying of boredom, and a very itchy flea! Also available for a larger ensemble (OR005b) with narration from within the group.This highly entertaining and unusual set of pieces is dedicated to Atarah Ben-Tovim.

Our Description

Finalist, NFA 2018 Newly Published Music, Flute Quartet Category

Performance duration (approx): 5'00

Difficulty guide: 8-9
Difficulty level, roughly compared to ABRSM exam grades. 0 is beginner, 9 is advanced (beyond grade 8).

Item Details


  • Part 1: Flute doubling on Piccolo
  • Part 2: Flute
  • Part 3: Flute doubling on Bass Flute
  • Part 4: Alto Flute
  • Part 5: Narrator
Category: Flute Quartet Music: Four Mixed Flutes
Publisher: Wonderful Winds
Publisher's reference: OR005a
Our Stock Code: 1401325
Media Type: Paperback - Score and parts (24 pages [score])