Call Us: 020 8662 8400
Planning on visiting us? Please book an appointment before travelling!

The New Egyptian-Arabic Sufic Art Music for Bb Clarinet or Trumpet

You currently have cookies turned off in your browser. You won't be able to place an order until you turn them back on.

From the Publisher

A volume of six (approximately 5 minutes each) expressive, fully transcribed compositions by Egyptian violinist/composer Abdo Dagher, master virtuoso in the traditional art of monodic (non-harmonized) Arabic music. The pieces include Layali Zamaan (Nights of the Past), Longa Nahawand, An-Nil (The Nile), Nidaa’ (Call to Prayer), Longa ‘Agam, and Sama’i Kurd Yakaa (10/4 meter). These melodic compositions will give Western classical musicians an understanding of Arabic music, including ornamentation, microtones (sikha), modes (maqamat) and rhythmic patterns (wazn). They may be performed as unique solo recital pieces or in chamber music settings with completely flexible instrumentation, including optional improvised cadenzas (taqasim). Optional percussive rhythmic patterns may be added with Arabic or Western percussion; all versions include both Arabic and Western percussion notation.

Difficulty guide: 7-8
Difficulty level, roughly compared to ABRSM exam grades. 0 is total beginner, 9 is advanced (beyond grade 8).


  • Longa Nahawand
  • Nidaa' (The Call)
  • Layali Zamaan (Nights of the Past)
  • Sama'i Kurd Yakaa
  • Longa' Agam
  • En-Nil (The Nile)

Transcriptions by:

  • Riad Abdel-Gawad
  • Mudassar Abol Wafa
  • Ayman An-Noweihy
  • Mamdouh Wariqi

Item Details

Category: Solo Clarinet Repertoire
Publisher: International Opus
Publisher's reference: Bb-0180
Our Stock Code: 939607
Media Type: Paperback

20% off Selected Schott Titles20% off Selected Schott Titles