Our shop remains closed; however we are processing online orders with a small team. Most orders are being dispatched next day.
Postal services are being delayed due to COVID-19 so please allow extra time to receive your order. Thank you for your patience.
Call Us: 020 8662 8400


New Classics to Moderns, Vol 1

Edited by Denes Agay


From the Publisher

A selection of original Piano music by the master composers of the past four centuries, the New Classics To Moderns series provides the pianist with a repertoire which is enjoyable for the player and listener alike. Inspired by the popular series by Denes Agay, each of the six books in the New Classics To Moderns collection contains pieces by a wide range of composers, from the old masters to contemporary writers with works from recent decades. Students, teachers, indeed all pianists, will find the pieces in New Classics To Moderns a priceless source of study material, recital pieces, sight reading exercises — or just relaxing musical entertainment. This volume includes works by Purcell, Haydn, Mozart, Vogel, Chapple and Stravinsky, amongst others. In the European Piano Teachers Association Journal, Nadia Lasserson writes that this series is "[e]xcellent value for money, the books offer students of ever level a well-balanced musical diet covering over four hundred years of wonderful music as well as offering a wide range of sight-reading material to advanced students."

Difficulty guide: 3
Difficulty level, roughly compared to ABRSM exam grades. 0 is beginner, 9 is advanced (beyond grade 8).


  • A Farewell (The Queen's Dolour) [Purcell, Henry]
  • Aria (from Six Tunes For Lucy) [Matthews, Colin]
  • Arioso [Scarlatti, Alessandro]
  • Black On White (No.12 from Zebra Music) [Swayne, Giles]
  • Brave Knight [Vogel, Moritz]
  • Copycat (from In The Pink) [Chapple, Brian]
  • Cradle Song (No.4 from 5 Lieder, Op.49) [Brahms, Johannes]
  • Cradle Song [Horak, Eduard]
  • Eleanor Ruth (from In The Pink) [Chapple, Brian]
  • Fugue (No.4 from Five Miniature Preludes And Fugues) [Rowley, Alex]
  • German Dance No.3 [Haydn, Joseph]
  • Ländler (No.2 from Four Ländlers) [Schubert, Franz]
  • Lento (No.6 from Les Cinq Doigts) [Stravinsky, Igor]
  • Minuet (from Ouverture in G Major, TWV 32:13) [Telemann, Georg Philipp]
  • Minuet, K.15cc (No.31 from The London Sketchbook) [Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus]
  • Minuet, K.2 [Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus]
  • Puppet's Complaint [Franck, Cesar]
  • Six Secret Songs – No.1 [Maxwell Davies, Peter]
  • The Cranes Are Flying [Arensky, Anton]
  • The Hunter's Song (No.10 from The First Lessons, Op.117) [Gurlitt, Cornelius]
  • The Piebald Circus Pony (from Five Pastels, Op.51) [Swinstead, Felix]
  • The Sick Doll (No.6 from Album For The Young, Op.39) [Tchaikovsky, Peter Ilyich]
  • Thoughtful (from Moods) [Kendell, Iain]
  • Walking [Diabelli, Anton]

Item Details


  • Part 1: Solo Piano
Category: Classical Piano Albums
Publisher: Yorktown Music
Publisher's reference: YK22110
Volume 1 in the New Classics to Moderns series
Our Stock Code: 1355864
Media Type: Paperback