Call Us: 020 8662 8400
Our showroom is now open for instrument trials by appointment - Book an Appointment

Monuments of the West for Flute and Tuba-Euphonium Quartet

  • Staff Pick
  • Editor's Choice

Staff Pick

“Find brass players - urgent!”

Chris Hankin Just Flutes staff member -

You definitely need to befriend four brass players fast as this is such an extraordinary piece that it would be terrible to miss out!  Using this combination of instruments to portray four colossal features  of the American landscape is not as crazy at it might first appear. The dark sonorites of the lower brass really do give a flavour of the scale of these features, especially in 'Death Valley' where Barr creates a very dark feeling of menace over which the flute sounds lonely and vulnerable.  Yellowstone conveys wide expanses, Rocky Mountains is a weird waltz and the ebulliance of Grand Canyon will test everyone's technique. Not an easy piece to play but what a treat to even try!

From the Publisher

The four movements of Monuments of the West, played without pause, are intended as a series of images evoking the scenery, distinct character, and frontier beginnings of four of America’s greatest National Parks: Yellowstone, the Rocky MountainsDeath Valley, and the Grand Canyon. Composed for the unique combination of Flute and Tuba-Euphonium quartet, this work was written for flutist Kathy Melago and premiered in September 2017 at Slippery Rock University, Pennsylvania.

Performance duration (approx): 20'

Difficulty guide: 8-9
Difficulty level, roughly compared to ABRSM exam grades. 0 is beginner, 9 is advanced (beyond grade 8).


  1. Yellowstone
  2. Rocky Mountains
  3. Death Valley
  4. Grand Canyon

Item Details


  • Part 1: Flute
  • Part 2: Euphonium
  • Part 3: Euphonium
  • Part 4: Tuba
  • Part 5: Tuba
Category: Music for Flute and Brass
Publisher: ALRY Publications
Publisher's reference: CM148
Our Stock Code: 1456905
Media Type: Paperback - Score and parts (28 pages [score])