Call Us: 020 8662 8400
Planning on visiting us? Please book an appointment prior to travelling.
** Royal Mail international shipments are subject to delays. If you require your order urgently please select an alternative shipping carrier.**

Mnicakmun for Flute and Piano

You currently have cookies turned off in your browser. You won't be able to place an order until you turn them back on.
  • Interesting, worth a look
  • Award-winning product

From the Publisher

Mnicakmun for Flute and Piano by William Linthicum-Blackhorse. Mnicakmun is a composition for flute and piano in three sections (Mnicásniyanyanla, Mnicáluza, Mióhuta). From the composer: 'Mnicakmun, or 'Sounds of Water,' began as a project for my composition studio class at Texas Tech University. The first movement was written with the total absence of classical triadic harmony. As I continued to write the piece, I began to break from the strict rules that I set for myself and developed what I believe is a beautiful representation of the different emotions a person experiences in life, using water as the imagery. The title was a last minute realization that I had written the piece with the Lakota Sioux native flute in mind, so I found it suiting to name the piece and its movements in the Lakota language. The word Mnicakmun is both the description and terminology for the sound that water makes when moving over a rocky surface.'

Winner: NFA Newly Published Music Competition 2023

Performance duration (approx): 12'

Difficulty guide: 9
Difficulty level, roughly compared to ABRSM exam grades. 0 is total beginner, 9 is advanced (beyond grade 8).

Item Details


  • Part 1: Flute
  • Part 2: Piano
Category: Contemporary Flute and Piano Music
Publisher: ALRY Publications
Publisher's reference: FP159
Our Stock Code: 1574609
Media Type: Paperback

Don't Dream. Play - 12 months' 0% Finance on Selected FlutesDon't Dream. Play - 12 months' 0% Finance on Selected Flutes

20% off all Chester titles20% off all Chester titles