Call Us: 020 8662 8400
Planning on visiting us? Instrument trials by appointment only: book an appointment

25% off Selected Schott Titles 25% off Selected Schott Titles

May 2020 for Solo Flute, Op. 91b

£9.50 £7.12
You currently have cookies turned off in your browser. You won't be able to place an order until you turn them back on.
  • Sale

From the Publisher

Fazil Say's sonata May 2020 for oboe solo Op. 91 is a twelve-minute piece in three movements contrasting in melody and rhythm. The intense rhythm is based on traditions of Turkish folk music which create a different texture within the movements.

In order to gain further experience in differentiated composing for woodwind instruments, Say adapted this sonata - originally composed for oboe solo - also for flute, clarinet in B flat and bassoon. These adaptations have been published in separate editions under opus numbers 91b (flute), 91c (clarinet) and 91d (bassoon).

The first movement of the sonata derives its characteristics from the traditional, asymmetrical 'limping and stumbling' syncopated Aksak rhythm. The second movement is inspired by modal music and elements of Sufi music. The third and last movement alludes to the Roma tradition on Istanbul by Köçekçe dances with their typical Balkan-Anatolian character which has, however, been translated into a contemporary musical language.

Say, whose oeuvre to this day includes only a few works for woodwinds, says the following about the sonata: 'Composing a piece for wind instruments was one of my wishes in life. Because of the high performance level, it has become quite a difficult piece. I think it is a good piece to play in competitions and exams as well as in concerts.'

Performance duration (approx): 12'00

Difficulty guide: 8-9
Difficulty level, roughly compared to ABRSM exam grades. 0 is beginner, 9 is advanced (beyond grade 8).


  1. Allegro ma non troppo, appassionata
  2. Adagietto
  3. Allegro assai, molto energico

Item Details


  • Part 1: Flute
Category: Solo Flute Repertoire
Publisher: Schott
Publisher's reference: FTR 240
Our Stock Code: 1490237
Media Type: Paperback (16 pages [score])