Call Us: 020 8662 8400
Planning on visiting us? Please book an appointment before travelling.

L'Ecole Moderne - Etudes-Caprices for Violin, Op10

You currently have cookies turned off in your browser. You won't be able to place an order until you turn them back on.

From the Publisher

Wieniawski gave the Opus 10 studies (as well as Opus 18) the title ''Etudes-caprices''. On the one hand, this suggests that the pieces were intended as exercises in violin technique; on the other hand, it brings to mind Paganini's collection of caprices, in which the didactic character of the pieces takes an artistic form. As a result, the Opus 10 ''Caprices'', similarly to the Paganini set, can also be performed in concert. Thus, Wieniawski clearly had two aims in mind: that tha violinist attain the highest level of thechnical mastery, but also that the compositions be performable as virtuoso concert pieces. (from the Introduction)

Difficulty guide: 7-8
Difficulty level, roughly compared to ABRSM exam grades. 0 is total beginner, 9 is advanced (beyond grade 8).

Item Details


  • Part 1: Violin
Category: Violin Study Books
Publisher: PWM Edition
Publisher's reference: PWM10504
Our Stock Code: 1368420
Media Type: Paperback

20% off Wonderful Winds Publications20% off Wonderful Winds Publications