Call Us: 020 8662 8400
Planning on visiting us? Please book an appointment before travelling.

Keyboard Works Book 2

£24.50 £19.60
You currently have cookies turned off in your browser. You won't be able to place an order until you turn them back on.
  • Sale

From the Publisher

Handel Keyboard Works Volume 2 (HWV 434-442)
Second Set of 1733. Suites de Pieces pour le Clavecin

The two collections of suites that Handel himself issued in 1720 and 1733 form the main pillars of his keyboard music.  For Handel, the suite was a self-contained genre with a cyclic formal design.  Thus, although indebted to the sequence of movements customary at the time, each suite in these two collections has distinctive features all of its own.

This new edition by the renowned Handel scholar Terence Best draws on Peter Northway’s ground-breaking volume of 1970.  Many new discoveries have made it necessary to thoroughly revise Northway’s work.  All these research findings have been incorporated in our volume along with the Urtext from the “Halle Handel Edition”.

The volume also contains an informative appendix with alternative versions and movements that Handel withdrew before publication.  This comprehensive edition of the 1733 collection is rounded off with a detailed preface, thereby creating a new edition that satisfies every prerequisite for professional performances at the highest level.

- Urtext based on the “Halle Handel Edition”

- Comprehensive edition of Handel’s keyboard works Volumes I-IV (BA 4221-4224)

- Detailed introductory text with notes on performance practice (Ger/Eng)

- Based on the latest Handel research findings

Approved Exam Music

Recommended for the following exam grade(s):

ABRSM ABRSM Piano (2023 to 2024)
Grades: 7


1. Suite B Major HWV 434 [Handel, George Frideric]

2. Chaconne G Major with 21 Variations HWV 435 [Handel, George Frideric]

3. Suite D Minor HWV 436 [Handel, George Frideric]

4. Suite D Minor HWV 437 [Handel, George Frideric]

5. Suite E Minor HWV 438 [Handel, George Frideric]

6. Suite G Minor HWV 439 [Handel, George Frideric]

7. Suite B-flat Major HWV 440 [Handel, George Frideric]

8. Suite G Major HWV 441 [Handel, George Frideric]

9. Prélude et Chaconne G Major with 62 Variations HWV 442 [Handel, George Frideric]

Item Details

Category: Piano Repertoire
Publisher: Bärenreiter
Publisher's reference: BA4221
Our Stock Code: 1071658
Media Type: Paperback

20% off Barenreiter20% off Barenreiter

20% off Barenreiter20% off Barenreiter

15% off the new ABRSM Syllabus15% off the new ABRSM Syllabus

The Sir James Galway Special SelectionThe Sir James Galway Special Selection