Call Us: 020 8662 8400
Planning on visiting us? Please book an appointment prior to travelling.
** Royal Mail international shipments are subject to delays. If you require your order urgently please select an alternative shipping carrier.**

Joyeux et Ensoleille for flute ensemble with piano
Includes Online Audio

You currently have cookies turned off in your browser. You won't be able to place an order until you turn them back on.
  • Highly recommended

From the Publisher

Another rare opportunity for a flute ensemble to perform with a pianist. Joyeux et Ensoleille is the 3rd movement of Poeme, originally written by the French composer, Gabriel Dupont for piano and string quartet [1911]. It is dedicated to his teacher, Charles Marie Widor. For this edition, it has been abridged and adapted for flutes by Roz Trubger. The character of the music is passionate and quirky by turn and requires a pianist of advanced ability. 
Roz's notes: I am really impressed by the quality of the composition. It leaves a strong impression of what might have been, if Dupont had lived longer than 36 years.

Gabriel Dupont was born on March 1, 1878 in Caen, France where his father was the organist at the church of Saint Pierre de Caen. Gabriel Dupont studied composition with J. Massenet and Ch.M. Widor at the Conservatoire in Paris. In 1901, at the age of 23, he won second Grand Prix in the Rome Competition (Ravel only received third prize). Two years later, Dupont won first prize in the Rome Competition with his opera La Cabrera. However, by the time he was 25, Dupont was already ill with Tuberculosis and died from tuberculosis aged 36 in August, 1914.


Performance duration (approx): 9'00

Difficulty guide: 6-8
Difficulty level, roughly compared to ABRSM exam grades. 0 is total beginner, 9 is advanced (beyond grade 8).

Item Details


  • Part 1: Flute
  • Part 2: Flute
  • Part 3: Flute
  • Part 4: Alto Flute
  • Part 5: Alto Flute
  • Part 6 (Optional): Bass Flute
  • Part 7: Piano
Category: Flute Quintet Music
Publisher: Trübcher Music
Publisher's reference: 9790708135524
Our Stock Code: 1413625
Media Type: Paperback - Score and parts (39 pages [score]); includes accompaniment Online Audio

Don't Dream. Play - 12 months' 0% Finance on Selected FlutesDon't Dream. Play - 12 months' 0% Finance on Selected Flutes

20% off all Chester titles20% off all Chester titles