Call Us: 020 8662 8400
Planning on visiting us? Please book an appointment prior to travelling.
** Royal Mail strike action will cause delays in December. If you require your order urgently please select an alternative shipping carrier **

Jazz Piano Basics Book 1
Includes Online Audio

You currently have cookies turned off in your browser. You won't be able to place an order until you turn them back on.

From the Publisher

Book 1 of a two-volume series that presents the fundamentals of jazz in a logical and accessible way, primarily through short progressive exercises. Ideal for classically trained pianists in traditional lessons who are a little cautious of learning jazz, as well as for those simply wishing to expand their existing jazzabilities. Also very useful for pianists interested in participating in a school jazz program. The online audio tracks are indispensable to the series, in particular the fun and practical Q&A improv exercises. Features 9 performance pieces: Funkasaurus · Midtown Strut · Jumpin' Jazz · Stepping Out · Petite Waltz · Elling Tones · Blue Bop · Avenue D · Big Earl'sHonky Tonk Blues. Concepts covered include: · Improvisation · Swing rhythms · Common jazz chords and scales · Accompaniment techniques · 12-bar blues, and much more! NOTE: Jazz Piano Basics is a revised and vastly expanded version of the Jazzabilities series.


  • Steppin' Out
  • Petite Waltz
  • Blue Bop
  • Funkasaurus
  • Jumpin' Jazz
  • Elling Tones
  • Big Earl's Honky-Tonk Blues
  • Midtown Strut
  • Avenue D

Item Details


  • Part 1: Piano
Category: Piano Tutor Books
Publisher: Willis Music Company
Publisher's reference: HL00234476
Our Stock Code: 1606225
Media Type: Paperback; includes accompaniment Online Audio