Call Us: 020 8662 8400
Planning on visiting us? Please book an appointment before travelling.

Intermezzo from the F.A.E. Sonata for Clarinet and Piano

You currently have cookies turned off in your browser. You won't be able to place an order until you turn them back on.
  • New

From the Publisher

This intermezzo is part of a joint composition by Johannes Brahms, Robert Schumann and Albrecht Dietrich (one of Schumann's pupils) for violin and piano. The sonata is dedicated to Joseph Joachim, the famous violinist. Its title is based on the initial letters of Joachim's motto "Frei aber einsam" (free but alone). Schumann's contribution is the intermezzo presented here whose composition is based on the thematic idea of the three tones F, A, E as mentioned before. Later on, he integrated this intermezzo into his 3rd sonata for violin in A minor. The arrangement for clarinet presented here required hardly any alterations from the original. The short movement is also suited as an encore.

Performance duration (approx): 12

Item Details

Category: Music for Bb Clarinet and Piano
Publisher: Zimmermann Frankfurt
Publisher's reference: ZM30890
Our Stock Code: 1679649
Media Type: Paperback

20% off Barenreiter20% off Barenreiter

15% off the new ABRSM Syllabus15% off the new ABRSM Syllabus

The Sir James Galway Special SelectionThe Sir James Galway Special Selection