Call Us: 020 8662 8400
Planning on visiting us? Please book an appointment before travelling.

Insecure Dances in Unstable Times for Flute, Clarinet, Violin, Cello and Piano (2012)

£54.99 £27.49
You currently have cookies turned off in your browser. You won't be able to place an order until you turn them back on.
  • Clearance

From the Publisher

The three pieces have a number of musical things in common. Each uses material from previously composed pieces; each is, in part, a study in rhythm and texture; each one is, relatively, concise.

The first piece juxtaposes two blocks of material, one rhythmically driven, the other explores line. These two 'themes' play against each other and merge and separate throughout the piece. A clarinet fanfare precedes the 'thematic' dialogue and further solo cameos, or interruptions, appear toward the middle (for violin) and toward the end (for 'cello).

The second piece explores the antiphonal ideas of the first and develops a melodic line, explored by each instrument with or without accompaniment. Each small section of the music ends with a pivot note that begins the next. These notes are points on a curve; the distance between them becomes shorter in time and closer in pitch as the music progresses.

The third piece is akin to a mechanical device, which, once set in motion, speeds away until it runs out of energy. Throughout this piece a pitch oscillation, or thread, winds its way through the texture that is punctuated by increasingly violent outbursts by the piano. After a brief cadenza, for the piano, the roles are reversed and the four instruments punctuate the piano's rhythmic trill, as all gradually winds down and motion ceases.

The first performance took place at The Warehouse, London in March 2013. Gwyn Pritchard conducted the Uroborus Ensemble.

Performance duration (approx): 10'00

Difficulty guide: 9
Difficulty level, roughly compared to ABRSM exam grades. 0 is total beginner, 9 is advanced (beyond grade 8).


  • I: risoluto, poco agitato
  • II: poco animato
  • III: inquieto

Item Details


  • Part 1: Flute
  • Part 2: Bb Clarinet
  • Part 3: Violin
  • Part 4: Cello
  • Part 5: Piano
Category: Music for Chamber Groups with Keyboard
Publisher: Composers Edition
Publisher's reference: Ce-ag2idiut1-pr-s
Our Stock Code: 1447774
Media Type: Paperback - Score and parts (36 pages [score])

20% off selected Schott Publications20% off selected Schott Publications