Call Us: 020 8662 8400
We are open for video consultations and home trials. Book a Video Consultation
Latest service update - click here


I Paused in the Wood


  • Highly recommended

From the Publisher

On a trip through the woods, an attentive ear pauses four times to listen. Here are the stories it recorded. The ' Brook's Tale' is a flowing riparian idyll, peacefully rising and falling, but mostly falling in overlapping cascades. 'A Tree Speaks of Winter' recalls the long gripping freeze and the the slow return of the first sap. The grand freedom of flight is the theme of 'The Bird's Tale, as the bird speaks of circling over the landscape, effortlessly rising in the updrafts. The piece ends in abandon as the squirr els take to the trees in 'Squirrel Joy'.

Difficulty guide: 5-8
Difficulty level, roughly compared to ABRSM exam grades. 0 is beginner, 9 is advanced (beyond grade 8).


  • The Brook's Tale
  • A Tree Speaks in Winter
  • The Bird's Tale
  • Squirrel Joy

Item Details


  • Part 1: Piccolo
  • Part 2: Flute
  • Part 3: Flute
  • Part 4: Flute
  • Part 5: Flute
  • Part 6: Alto Flute
  • Part 7: Bass Flute
  • Part 8 (Optional): Contrabass Flute
Category: Flute Choir Music: 8 Mixed Flutes
Publisher: Falls House Press
Publisher's reference: FH0489
Our Stock Code: 1392067
Media Type: Paperback - Score and parts (16 pages [score])