Call Us: 020 8662 8400
Planning on visiting us? Please book an appointment prior to travelling.
** Royal Mail international shipments are subject to delays. If you require your order urgently please select an alternative shipping carrier.**

Heralds of Spring: 12 Piano Pieces, Op.55

You currently have cookies turned off in your browser. You won't be able to place an order until you turn them back on.

From the Publisher

Joachim Raff’s 12 piano pieces Frühlingsboten op. 55, originating in 1852/53, mark a new creative start in his compositional oeuvre, in which the composer left behind his previously written and published piano works. The title of the work, translated as “Heralds of Spring,” is multilayered: It refers not only to spring in nature as expressed in the headings of the first two pieces, “Winterruhe [Hibernation]” and “Frühlingsnahen [Spring’s Approach],” but the words “Heralds of Spring” also indicate love’s spring, the blossoming of love for his future wife, the actress Doris Genast. This appears in the headings of the pieces as of no. 3, sketching the path of an imaginary couple approaching union via various annoyances. And ultimately, Raff saw in his new piano work the “harbingers” of his future works, created under “happy circumstances.”

In Frühlingsboten Raff repeatedly demonstrates his ability to adapt idioms and compositional techniques from works by Liszt, Chopin, Mendelssohn, Schumann, and others. The pieces do nonetheless possess their own thoroughly original diction with a character spectrum just as diverse as their stylistic piano design.


  • Winterruhe
  • Frühlingsnahen
  • Gelübde
  • Unruhe
  • Annäherung
  • Wirrniss
  • Vorwurf
  • Fern
  • Frohe Kunde
  • Zu zwei
  • Ohne Ruhʼ
  • Abends

Item Details


  • Part 1: Piano
Category: Piano Repertoire
Publisher: Breitkopf & Härtel
Publisher's reference: EB 9412
Our Stock Code: 1603774
Media Type: Paperback

25% off Forton Music25% off Forton Music

20% off Universal Edition20% off Universal Edition