Call Us: 020 8662 8400
Our showroom is now open for instrument trials by appointment - Book an Appointment

Hark Now! The Gentle Flutes in Chorus, BWV 206

  • Highly recommended

Our Description

Aria from Cantata BWV 206:"Hark Now! The Gentle Flutes in Chorus"

For SOLO SOPRANO (or PICCOLO) and FLUTE CHOIR - Cantata No. 206 was composed to celebrate the birthday of August III, Elector of Saxony, and King of Poland from 1733-1763. Scored for soprano voice or piccolo, 4 C flutes, alto and/or bass flute.

Bach's orginal scoring called for three flutes, soprano and continuo. This transcription assigns the continuo line to the 4th flute part and to the optional alto and bass flutes. An ideal instrumentation for performance would be:

Flute 1: 2 C flutes

Flute 2: 2 C flutes

Flute 3: 3 C flutes

Flute 4: 3 C flutes or 2 altos and 1 bass flute

Soprano soloist or piccolo solo

Difficulty guide: 5-7
Difficulty level, roughly compared to ABRSM exam grades. 0 is beginner, 9 is advanced (beyond grade 8).

Item Details


  • Part 1: Solo Piccolo or Voice - Soprano
  • Part 2: Flute
  • Part 3: Flute
  • Part 4: Flute
  • Part 5: Flute
  • Part 6: Alto Flute
  • Part 7: Bass Flute
Category: Flute Choir Music: 6 Mixed Flutes
Publisher: ALRY Publications
Publisher's reference: FC068
Our Stock Code: 920902
Media Type: Paperback - Score and parts