Call Us: 020 8662 8400
Planning on visiting us? Please book an appointment prior to travelling.

The Gardens of Anna Maria Luisa de Medici for Flute, Cello and Piano

You currently have cookies turned off in your browser. You won't be able to place an order until you turn them back on.
  • Staff Pick

Staff Pick


Chris Hankin Just Flutes staff member - [email protected]

This is a mesmerising piece which weaves a spell over the listener with its Japanese minimalist style. The first movement, Just to see something beautiful, opens with a long flute solo, joined eventually by high piano fluttering which takes us immediately to the Orient. Fools hurry is more animated with the cello taking a more active role. The piano ending is beautiful. The third movement is sad and heartbreaking with a cascading central section.  This is a lovely piece - don't miss it!

From the Publisher

This trio is inspired by the last of the Medicis, the remarkable Anna Maria Luisa (1667-1743), who left Italy for Germany for twenty-six years while married to Johann Wilhelm of Saxony. Just one facet of her colourful life influences the composition: each of the three movements reveals her love of nature under cultivation.

Performance duration (approx): 15'

Difficulty guide: 9
Difficulty level, roughly compared to ABRSM exam grades. 0 is total beginner, 9 is advanced (beyond grade 8).


  1. Just to see something beautiful
  2. Fools hurry, clever ones wait, wise ones walk in the garden
  3. Villa quieter: andante poco mesto

Item Details


  • Part 1: Flute
  • Part 2: Cello
  • Part 3: Piano
Category: Music for Flute, Cello and Piano
Publisher: Oxford University Press
Publisher's reference: 9780193868564
Our Stock Code: 1380255
Media Type: Paperback (20 pages [score])

20% off Novello music20% off Novello music

20% off IMC music20% off IMC music