Our shop remains closed; however we are processing online orders with a small team. Most orders are being dispatched next day.
Postal services are being delayed due to COVID-19 so please allow extra time to receive your order. Thank you for your patience.
Call Us: 020 8662 8400


The Garden of Forking Paths No. 2


From the Publisher

Jan Swafford composed The Garden of Forking Paths No. 2 Lines for Flute and Piccolo Trumpet in 1970. The idea for the work came from a fantasy story by Jorge Luis Borges. In it, a write creates an apparently incomprehensible novel of that same name in which, as it turns out, every moment of a store, as of life, lies at a forking path that can go in many directions. In Borges's imaginary, impossible novel, they do. In the first movement, the piccolo trumpet plays an insistent fanfare; the flute replies with sultry glissandos, and the paths never meet. The second movement has both instruments playing the same melody, but not in the same rhythm. In the last movement, the two subsume the characters of all the music that came before, but each still on his or her own path. This work is dedicated to Jan Gippo, flute, and Jim Thomson, trumpet. The two premiered the piece at the New England Conservatory in 1971.

Item Details

Category: Music for Flute and Brass
Publisher: Meridian Publishing
Publisher's reference: CM135
Our Stock Code: 1430677
Media Type: Paperback