Call Us: 020 8662 8400
Planning on visiting us? Please book an appointment before travelling!

Four Trio Sonatas for Two Flutes and Basso Continuo, Op. 78

You currently have cookies turned off in your browser. You won't be able to place an order until you turn them back on.

From the Publisher

Boismortier’s final surviving set of trio sonatas, the [IV] Sonates pour deux flutes traversieres avec la basse, Op. 78, dates from late 1739 or early 1740. With this set the composer has, in a sense, come full circle, as these works recall his very first ‘sonates en trio’, Op. 4, of 1724: both sets are scored for two flutes and continuo and all sonatas have four movements. But while the earlier works are outwardly French — French movement titles, dynamics and tempo indications, and use of French time signatures and the French violin clef — the Op. 78 pieces are ostensibly Italian.

The individual works are expertly crafted, and collectively they contain much charming music, including two excellent three-part fugues, and several dances that surely typify the kind of popular music heard in Paris during the late 1730s. Evidently written for amateur musicians, the Op. 78 sonatas are technically accessible and set in tonalities comfortable for the one-keyed flute, which makes them particularly attractive for today’s students of that instrument.

Performance duration (approx): 4 x 10'

Item Details


  • Part 1: Flute
  • Part 2: Flute
  • Part 3: Basso continuo
Category: Music for Two Flutes and Piano
Publisher: Edition HH
Publisher's reference: HH464FSP
Our Stock Code: 1439434
Media Type: Paperback - Score and parts (33 pages [score])

20% off Selected Schott Titles20% off Selected Schott Titles