Call Us: 020 8662 8400
Planning on visiting us? Instrument trials by appointment only: book an appointment

Four Romantic Pieces arranged for Flute Trio, Op. 75a

You currently have cookies turned off in your browser. You won't be able to place an order until you turn them back on.
  • Staff Pick

Staff Pick

“Beautiful Dvorak!”

Chris Hankin Just Flutes staff member - [email protected]
These four lovely pieces by Dvorak have been sensitively arranged by Robert Rainford and are great to play. The structure of the writing has the C flutes sharing the melodies with the alto mainly holding down the bass line. This is great if you are not yet confident in alto flute playing! Movements very easily stand alone which is also useful. The style and essence of Dvorak is instantly appealing and so everyone will love these!

From the Publisher

Antonín Leopold Dvořák (8 September 1841 – 1 May 1904) was one of the first Czech composers to achieve worldwide recognition. Following the Romantic-era nationalist example of his predecessor Bedřich Smetana, Dvořák frequently employed rhythms and other aspects of the folk music of his native Bohemia. Dvořák’s own style has been described as “the fullest recreation of a national idiom with that of the symphonic tradition, absorbing folk influences and finding effective ways of using them”.
These four trios were composed for a pair of violinists in Prague, with Dvorak himself taking the viola part. He then immediately arranged the pieces for violin and piano, and are more well known in that version. This initial version was not rediscovered until 1938. In this arrangement, the melodic material has been shared more evenly between the two flute parts.

Performance duration (approx): 10'

Difficulty guide: 6
Difficulty level, roughly compared to ABRSM exam grades. 0 is beginner, 9 is advanced (beyond grade 8).


  1. Cavatina
  2. Capriccio
  3. Romance
  4. Elegie

Item Details


  • Part 1: Flute
  • Part 2: Flute
  • Part 3: Alto Flute
Category: Flute Trio Music: Three Mixed Flutes
Publisher: Forton Music
Publisher's reference: FM953
Our Stock Code: 1472974
Media Type: Paperback - Score and parts (8 pages [score])