Call Us: 020 8662 8400
Our showroom is now open for instrument trials by appointment - Book an Appointment

Folk Roots - Flute
Includes CD

Arranged by Hywel Davies
  • Interesting, worth a look

Approved Exam Music

Recommended for the following exam grade(s):

Trinity College exam syllabus

From the Publisher

In this timeless new collection, Hywel Davies presents eight fresh interpretations of traditional British folk tunes together with seven complementary folk-inspired original compositions for developing flautists to learn, enjoy and perform.Ideally suited for students of grade 1-3 standard, these progressive albums also contain helpful notes describing the lyrical character, content and inspiration behind each piece, equipping players to give informed, authentic and stylish performances.A superb CD of performances, backing tracks, and slowed-down backing tracks for practice is included. Hywell Davies is an award-winning composer, arranger and creative artist. His works have been performed on five continents and broadcast on three.

Difficulty guide: 2-3
Difficulty level, roughly compared to ABRSM exam grades. 0 is beginner, 9 is advanced (beyond grade 8).


  • The Watchet Sailor
  • Whistling Song
  • Farewell Nancy
  • Adieu
  • Fanny Blair
  • O Waly Waly
  • Soing
  • Walking Song
  • It's a Rodebud in June
  • Waltz
  • The Miller of the ~Dee
  • Milonga
  • When the Boat Comes In (Dance ti' thy Daddy)
  • The trees they do grow so high
  • Hornpipe

Item Details


  • Part 1: Flute
  • Part 2: Piano
Category: British Folk Flute Music
Publisher: Boosey & Hawkes
Publisher's reference: BH12678
Our Stock Code: 1349641
Media Type: Paperback (42 pages [score]); includes accompaniment CD