Call Us: 020 8662 8400
Planning on visiting us? Please book an appointment prior to travelling.

The Flute Voice for Flute and Piano

A celebration of the poem by Sidney Lanier

You currently have cookies turned off in your browser. You won't be able to place an order until you turn them back on.
  • New
  • Staff Pick

Staff Pick

“An unusual and very beautiful piece. ”

Chris Hankin Just Flutes staff member - [email protected]

The back story of The Flute Voice is a Sidney Lanier poem of the same title and the words are printed throughout the flute part to forge a strong musical link. The opening line ' a velvet flute note fell down pleasantly' is enticing and the music reflects this with a beautifully crafted flute line over rich supportive harmony, a feature of the writing throughout. The overall structure takes its lead from the poem, constantly shifting both in tempo and in mood, with snippets of melody delicately altered to produce fleeting aural flashbacks, Hilary Taggart is a wonderful flute player herself and her understanding of the instrument enables her to use all the colours and flexibility of phrasing available to us. This makes it so rewarding to play. It's an altogether unusual and very beautiful piece which would be great in any concert programme.

From the Publisher

The Flute Voice uses a stanza from Sidney Lanier's large poetic work The Symphony (1875). Lanier's interest in dialects and the connection of musical notation with poetic meter is often a feature of his creative approach, and for this reason The Flute Voice by Hilary Taggart has the words of his poem printed throughout the score, so that the music echoes aspects of the rhythm, shaping, pace and mood of the poetry. This flute and piano piece also adheres to the importance of harmony; Lanier, as a devout Catholic, famously wrote: 'Music means harmony, harmony means love. Love means God.'

Performance duration (approx): 6'00

Difficulty guide: 8
Difficulty level, roughly compared to ABRSM exam grades. 0 is total beginner, 9 is advanced (beyond grade 8).

Item Details


  • Part 1: Flute
  • Part 2: Piano
Category: Contemporary Flute and Piano Music
Publisher: Just Flutes Edition
Publisher's reference: JFE040
Our Stock Code: 1654042
Media Type: Paperback (12 pages [score])

20% off selected Boosey & Hawkes music20% off selected Boosey & Hawkes music

20% off Kevin Mayhew books20% off Kevin Mayhew books