Call Us: 020 8662 8400
We remain open by appointment only for the time being.
Book An Appointment or Video Consultation

Flute Sonatas, Vol 2

You currently have cookies turned off in your browser. You won't be able to place an order until you turn them back on.
  • Recommended edition
  • Worth the high price tag
  • Staff Pick

Staff Pick

“Beautifully presented by a Baroque authority”

Chris Hankin Just Flutes staff member - [email protected]

Without doubt this is the definitive edition of these Quantz sonatas. Rachel Brown is a leading authority on works of this period and these beautifully presented volumes are bursting with her enthusiasm and scholarship. Each one contains 2 copies of the score for flute and cello, a keyboard part and a reproduction of the facsimile. There is also a wealth of information in her performance notes, covering use of accidentals, rhythm, tempo, ornamentation, articulation and cadenzas. Everything here is just as it should be and every flute player should have a copy!

From the Publisher

These exhilarating works were composed for Frederick the Great, King of Prussia, and have remained in his private collection, largely unknown, since the eighteenth century.  Now published for the first time, these choicest pieces may, at last, assume their rightful position in the core flute repertoire.

This Urtext edition presents:

  • flute and bass parts together
  • performance notes by Rachel Brown
  • keyboard realization of the figured bass by Terence Charlston
  • facsimile reproduction of original manuscripts
Difficulty guide: 5-8
Difficulty level, roughly compared to ABRSM exam grades. 0 is beginner, 9 is advanced (beyond grade 8).


  • Sonata in B minor, No. 267 QV1: 169
  • Sonata in Eb major, No. 348 QV1: 54
  • Sonata in B minor, No. 231 QV1: 168
  • Sonata in G minor, No. 336 QV1: 126
  • Sonata in A major, No. 351 QV1: 143
  • Sonata in F major, No. 356 QV1: 82

Item Details


  • Part 1: Flute
  • Part 2: Basso continuo
Category: Baroque Flute and Continuo Music
Publisher: Uppernote Publications
Publisher's reference: UPP102
Volume 2 in the Quantz Flute Sonatas (Rachel Brown) series
Our Stock Code: 1100747
Media Type: Paperback

Save 25% on selected Schott publications.Save 25% on selected Schott publications

Save 20% on Faber Music.Save 20% on Faber Music

Save 25% on selected BG France Accessories.Save 25% on selected BG France Accessories.