Call Us: 020 8662 8400
Planning on visiting us? Please book an appointment prior to travelling.
** Royal Mail strike action will cause delays from 24th November. If you require your order urgently please select an alternative shipping carrier **

Flute Quartet for Flute, Violin, Viola & Cello, Op3

You currently have cookies turned off in your browser. You won't be able to place an order until you turn them back on.

From the Publisher

Two quartets by Franciszek Lessel have been preserved in their entirety: the Flute Quartet in G major, Op. 3 and the Eighth String Quartet in B flat major, Op. 19. The Flute Quartet was written during Lessels first creative period in 1806 and was published for the first time the same year in Vienna. The work consists of four movements: Allegro in the form of sonata allegro (I), the poetic Adagio in E minor (II) contrasting with the gay, dance-like Minuetto Allegro (III) and the final Allegro consisting of a theme with variations (IV). The Flute Quartet is compact and transparent in form and is notable for the skilful combination of homophonic and contrapuntal textures, richness of melody and harmony and its individual tonal language. Despite the noticeable influence of Haydn, the composition counts as one of the best Polish classical works. It was dedicated to Count Fryderyk Lubomirski.

Difficulty guide: 7-8
Difficulty level, roughly compared to ABRSM exam grades. 0 is beginner, 9 is advanced (beyond grade 8).

Item Details


  • Part 1: Flute
  • Part 2: Violin
  • Part 3: Viola
  • Part 4: Cello
Category: Music for Flute Quartet (Flute, Violin, Viola, Cello)
Publisher: PWM Edition
Publisher's reference: PWM1267
Our Stock Code: 1027303
Media Type: Paperback (32 pages [score])