Call Us: 020 8662 8400
Planning on visiting us? Please book an appointment before travelling.

Concerto in E minor for Flute and Piano, Op 19

You currently have cookies turned off in your browser. You won't be able to place an order until you turn them back on.
  • Staff Pick

Staff Pick

“Classical with a darker side.”

Chris Hankin Just Flutes staff member - [email protected]

Muller's writing is dark and dramatic in this concerto which has twists and turns of harmony and an unexpected structure. The first movement changes frequently from minor to major, the slow movement uses the full compass of the flute to weave its melodic line, and Muller uses a theme and variations structure as a finale. This sparkles despite the predominant minor key, and you will need very good articulation to fully convey the character. It's all very unusual and wonderful to play!

From the Publisher

August Eberhard Müller is chiefly remembered as a keyboard composer, but for a time he was also the principal flautist of the Leipzig Gewandhaus Orchestra. As a confirmed Mozartian, he followed the classical pattern in his concertos for flute and orchestra, and the present work, published here for the first time since 1801, is an attractive and virtuoso piece in the less usual minor tonality. It is edited by Nikolai Jaeger and Christopher Hogwood with a useful introduction that includes points of performance practice drawn from Müller’s own flute tutor. The full score and instrumental parts, and a keyboard reduction with solo part, are now available.

"Edition HH strikes gold once more with the beautifully clear publication of the flute concerto in E minor by August Eberhard Müller (1767-1817), edited by Christopher Hogwood and Nikolai Jaeger." - The Consort

Performance duration (approx): 20'

Difficulty guide: 7-8
Difficulty level, roughly compared to ABRSM exam grades. 0 is total beginner, 9 is advanced (beyond grade 8).


  1. Allegro
  2. Adagio
  3. Allegretto con variatizioni

Item Details


  • Part 1: Flute
  • Part 2: Piano
Category: Classical Flute and Piano Music
Publisher: Edition HH
Publisher's reference: HH249KBD
Our Stock Code: 1318463
Media Type: Paperback (28 pages [score])

20% off Barenreiter20% off Barenreiter

15% off the new ABRSM Syllabus15% off the new ABRSM Syllabus

The Sir James Galway Special SelectionThe Sir James Galway Special Selection