Call Us: 020 8662 8400
Our showroom is now open for instrument trials by appointment - Book an Appointment

Flute Concerto in E minor


Approved Exam Music

Recommended for the following exam grade(s):

ABRSM exam syllabus

From the Publisher

August Eberhard Müller is chiefly remembered as a keyboard composer, but for a time he was also the principal flautist of the Leipzig Gewandhaus Orchestra. As a confirmed Mozartian, he followed the classical pattern in his concertos for flute and orchestra, and the present work, published here for the first time since 1801, is an attractive and virtuoso piece in the less usual minor tonality. It is edited by Nikolai Jaeger and Christopher Hogwood with a useful introduction that includes points of performance practice drawn from Müller’s own flute tutor. The full score and instrumental parts, and a keyboard reduction with solo part, are now available.

"Edition HH strikes gold once more with the beautifully clear publication of the flute concerto in E minor by August Eberhard Müller (1767-1817), edited by Christopher Hogwood and Nikolai Jaeger." - The Consort

Difficulty guide: 7-8
Difficulty level, roughly compared to ABRSM exam grades. 0 is beginner, 9 is advanced (beyond grade 8).


  1. Allegro
  2. Adagio
  3. Allegretto con variatizioni

Item Details


  • Part 1: Flute
Category: Classical Flute and Piano Music
Publisher: Edition HH
Publisher's reference: HH249.KBD
Our Stock Code: 1318463
Media Type: Paperback - Score and parts (28 pages [score])