Call Us: 020 8662 8400
Planning on visiting us? Please book an appointment before travelling.

Flute Concerto (2020)

You currently have cookies turned off in your browser. You won't be able to place an order until you turn them back on.

From the Publisher

From an embryonic germ of an idea that is the opening of the second movement of this work grew what originally was a ‘stand alone’ sonatina (titled; On Reflection). On revisiting this sometime later, intrigued by a wealth of almost incidental and undeveloped material within, I saw an opportunity to expand the piece to the three movements presented here. This expansion, built around a central pier, creates an unexpectedly  strong feeling of déjà vu at various moments throughout the composition…. snippets of familiar sounding melody or ‘known’ harmony giving a unity to work as a whole. This version for flute and piano is not simply a ‘piano reduction’. On the contrary; it was originally conceived as a sonata with equal voices, and then, as a commission, re worked and orchestrated to form a concerto. This slightly unusual evolution has resulted in a concerto that gives both soloist and accompanist the opportunity not only to shine , but to demonstrate that wonderful interaction inherent in chamber music performance.

Finalist: NFA Newly Published Music Awards 2021

Performance duration (approx): 20'

Difficulty guide: 8
Difficulty level, roughly compared to ABRSM exam grades. 0 is total beginner, 9 is advanced (beyond grade 8).


  1. Largo-Allegro
  2. Adagio
  3. Allegro

Item Details


  • Part 1: Flute
  • Part 2: Piano
Category: Contemporary Flute and Piano Music
Publisher: Forton Music
Publisher's reference: FM944
Our Stock Code: 1472929
Media Type: Paperback (32 pages [score])

20% off Wonderful Winds Publications20% off Wonderful Winds Publications