Call Us: 020 8662 8400
Planning on visiting us? Please book an appointment prior to travelling.

Flute Concerto for Flute and Piano (with optional Second Flute)

You currently have cookies turned off in your browser. You won't be able to place an order until you turn them back on.

From the Publisher

The flute concerto was first published in 1952 by Samfundet til Udgivelse af Dansk Musik (E.D. 143) in the edition of the Hungarian-Danish violin virtuoso and conductor Emil Telmányi (1892-1988). Emil Telmányi was Carl Nielsen’s son-in-law; and he had conducted the Paris world premiere of the concerto. A new revised edition was published in 2003 by Edition Wilhelm Hansen as part of The Carl Nielsen Edition (The Royal Library, Copenhagen CN 00039).

In order to facilitate the interplay between the solo flute and the solo instruments in the orchestra, the Telmányi edition had inserted in the flute solo part a thorough set of cue notes for the orchestra’s solo passages. The Carl Nielsen Edition chose to present the flute solo part without these cue notes.

Since the chamber music-style interplay betwen the soloist and the solo instruments of the orchestra forms such a special and unique part of Carl Nielsen’s flute concerto, EDITION SVITZER has re-introduced the orchestral solo parts (and important tutti passages) into the flute solo part by way of cue notes in a second system.

Thus the present publication combines the recently gained insights of the Carl Nielsen Edition with the chamber musical layout of the first edition. Identical bar numbers and letters open up the possibility of using the flute solo part with the revised orchestra parts and score of the Carl Nielsen Edition (CN 00039).

Our Description

The concerto has considerable source material, consisting of two manuscripts (one of which is a hand-written outline version and another one, which is only partially in the composers’ own handwriting), as well as sketches and hand-written parts that were used at the Paris first performance. In view of the complex source material and of the two distinct endings to the second movement, it has not been the intention of the present publication to produce an urtext edition.


"This is an intelligent edition which is clearly printed and provides effective study material ... an excellent practice tool, and is likely to be invaluable in the preparation of this piece ... Highly recommended".

Elisabeth Hobbs, editor
The Journal of the British Flute Society          (December 2011)

"The new edition of the recent and young innovative Danish publisher Edition Svitzer combines the advantages of the two previous editions ... Included in the music there are exhaustiv comments about the work and days of Nielsen ... This edition was revised and corrected by Maestro András Adorján".

Francisco-Javier López, editor
Association of Andalucia                                (January 2012)

Difficulty guide: 9
Difficulty level, roughly compared to ABRSM exam grades. 0 is total beginner, 9 is advanced (beyond grade 8).

Item Details


  • Part 1: Flute
  • Part 2 (Optional): Flute
  • Part 3: Piano
Category: 20th Century Flute and Piano Music
Publisher: Edition Svitzer
Our Stock Code: 1202816
Media Type: Paperback - Score and parts

20% off Novello music20% off Novello music

20% off IMC music20% off IMC music