Call Us: 020 8662 8400
Planning on visiting us? Please book an appointment before travelling!

Concerto for Flute and Piano

You currently have cookies turned off in your browser. You won't be able to place an order until you turn them back on.

From the Publisher

Carl Nielsen’s flute concerto is, together with Jacques Ibert’s, among the most popular and most widely performed flute concertos of the 20th Century.

It was composed for the Danish flautist Holger Gilbert-Jespersen (1890-1974), during an Italian soujurn in 1926. Gilbert-Jespersen himself was the soloist at the concerto’s world premiere in Maison  Gaveau (Salle des Concerts) in Paris on October 21st 1926. That concert consisting entirely of music by Carl Nielsen was attended by the composer’s colleagues Maurice Ravel, Gabriel Pierné and Arthur Honegger; and it became a great personal success for the composer. Honegger wrote a review, which appeared in Politiken on October 26th.


In early January 1927, following the first two performances in Paris and Oslo, Carl Nielsen wrote a new, 72 bars longer ending. This was the way the concerto was performed at its Danish premiere on 25 January 1927; and this ending has been the standard version ever since.

Difficulty guide: 9
Difficulty level, roughly compared to ABRSM exam grades. 0 is total beginner, 9 is advanced (beyond grade 8).

Approved Exam Music

Recommended for the following exam grade(s):

ABRSM ABRSM Flute (Ongoing)
Grades: FRSM
Trinity College London Trinity College London Flute (Ongoing)
Grades: FTCL

Item Details


  • Part 1: Flute
  • Part 2: Piano
Category: 20th Century Flute and Piano Music
Publisher: Edition Wilhelm Hansen
Publisher's reference: WH30697
Our Stock Code: 1051087
Media Type: Paperback

20% off Selected Schott Titles20% off Selected Schott Titles