Call Us: 020 8662 8400
Planning on visiting us? Please book an appointment before travelling!

The Fitzwilliam Sonatas for Flute/Treble Recorder and Basso Continuo, HWV359

You currently have cookies turned off in your browser. You won't be able to place an order until you turn them back on.
  • Staff Pick

Staff Pick

“Absolute gems!”

Chris Hankin Just Flutes staff member - [email protected]

These three little sonatas, so called because they were found in the Fitzwilliam Museum in Cambridge, are arrangements made by Thurston Dart. They are all short, not too difficult and quite delightful. The first sonata in B flat major is full of joy, opening with a lightly stepped Courante, then a vocal Adagio and finishing with a lively Allegro. The D minor second sonata is again in three movements and has a more lyrical poignancy to the writing. The third sonata, also in D minor is a slightly more substantial five movement work with one of the fast movements marked furioso! If you are a Handel fan you will love them and if you're not they will almost certainly convert you!

Difficulty guide: 5-6
Difficulty level, roughly compared to ABRSM exam grades. 0 is total beginner, 9 is advanced (beyond grade 8).

Approved Exam Music

Recommended for the following exam grade(s):

ABRSM ABRSM Treble Recorder (from 2022)
Grades: 5, 6, 8


  1. Sonata in B flat major
  2. Sonata in D minor
  3. Sonata in D minor

Item Details


  • Part 1: Flute Treble Recorder
  • Part 2: Piano
Category: Baroque Flute and Continuo Music
Publisher: Schott
Publisher's reference: ED 10062
Our Stock Code: 1001204
Media Type: Paperback (40 pages [score])

20% off Selected Schott Titles20% off Selected Schott Titles