Call Us: 020 8662 8400
Planning on visiting us? Please book an appointment before travelling.

First Movement from "Gran Partita" for Flute Choir, K361

You currently have cookies turned off in your browser. You won't be able to place an order until you turn them back on.
  • New
  • Staff Pick

Staff Pick

“A classic for everyone!”

Chris Hankin Just Flutes staff member - [email protected]

Mozart's monumental Gran Partita is a rare treat in it's original form as it isn't that often performed, so it's wonderful to have a good arrangement for large flute choir. The lower flutes really bring a great depth to the texture, which, together with the piccolo, enable Melanie Thorne to capture the extent of Mozart's colouring and convey the size of the work successfully. It is making this orchestral complexity work that poses the greatest challenge in performance but the rewards are tremendous once this has been achieved. It really is a classic for everyone!

From the Publisher

The first movement of Mozart’s Gran Partita K361, opens with a slow introduction, but the rhythmic complexities of the score create a sense of anticipation of the following Allegro. This was originally scored for 13 wind instruments, and the suitably contrasting timbres of the flute choir, provide an exciting alternative to the original. 

Our Description

Also available for 8 flutes.

Performance duration (approx): 3'30

Difficulty guide: 6-9
Difficulty level, roughly compared to ABRSM exam grades. 0 is total beginner, 9 is advanced (beyond grade 8).

Item Details


  • Part 1: Piccolo
  • Part 2: Flute
  • Part 3: Flute
  • Part 4: Flute
  • Part 5: Flute
  • Part 6: Flute
  • Part 7: Alto Flute
  • Part 8: Bass Flute
  • Part 9: Bass Flute
  • Part 10: Contrabass Flute
Category: Flute Choir Music: 9+ Mixed Flutes
Publisher: Sempre Music
Publisher's reference: SM-F86G
Our Stock Code: 1678604
Media Type: Paperback - Score and parts (23 pages [score])

20% off Barenreiter20% off Barenreiter

15% off the new ABRSM Syllabus15% off the new ABRSM Syllabus

The Sir James Galway Special SelectionThe Sir James Galway Special Selection