Call Us: 020 8662 8400
Planning on visiting us? Please book an appointment prior to travelling.
** Royal Mail strike action may affect deliveries on Thursday 13th October. If you require your order urgently please select an alternative shipping carrier **

Fictions: Suite for Four Flutes

You currently have cookies turned off in your browser. You won't be able to place an order until you turn them back on.
  • Highly recommended
  • Worth the high price tag

Our Description

A substantial Suite for 4 concert flutes in 4 movements lasting about 14 minutes. Each part is 16 pages long with a 20 page score. Comes in a designer folder. Commissioned by the Monokrome Flute Quartet (California), it was premierred at the NFA convention in Nashville on 15th August 2004 where it was received with great acclaim. A lively, atmospheric and hard hitting quartet (suiting a mature or aspiring ensemble) in 4 movements.

Composer's Notes

Fictions, as the name suggests are four descriptive pieces for flute quartet. Movement 1, entitled Whirlpool, evokes a swirling maelstrom with the four voices interacting canonically and with chromatically slipping harmonies. Movement 2, Drought, is a slow harmonically stark piece which builds from independent lines to block movement whilst keeping an arid feel throughout. As a contrast, Home Side depicts nothing more than a boorish crowd of football supporters cheering their team on to defeat and then collapsing into bed in a drunken stupor. Flat Out is just that, a headlong sprint to the finishing line using the underlying vehicle of a blues to burst through the jazz speckled finishing tape...

Difficulty guide: 8
Difficulty level, roughly compared to ABRSM exam grades. 0 is beginner, 9 is advanced (beyond grade 8).


  1. Whirlpool
  2. Drought
  3. Home Side
  4. Flat Out

Item Details


  • Part 1: Flute
  • Part 2: Flute
  • Part 3: Flute
  • Part 4: Flute
Category: Flute Quartet Music: Four C Flutes
Publisher: Itchy Fingers Publications
Publisher's reference: IFP 44
Our Stock Code: 1042498
Media Type: Paperback - Score and parts