Call Us: 020 8662 8400
Planning on visiting us? Please book an appointment before travelling!

Fascinations: 35 Pieces on the Quirky Side

Edited by Hywel Davies
You currently have cookies turned off in your browser. You won't be able to place an order until you turn them back on.

From the Publisher

Fascinations is a volume of quirky juxtapositions and intriguing pieces of music. Lœillet is cheek-by-jowl with Liszt, Schumann with Scarlatti and Sjögren. There are some fine newly-written miniatures, but also some extraordinary pieces by well-known composers, such as Mozart’s bizarre Funeral march of Signor Maestro Contrapunto or the unsophisticated music-making faithfully represented in Gounod’s Bagpipers and Tchaikovsky’s The peasant plays the mouth-organ. Dance movements by Telemann, Schubert, Rameau, Ji┼Ľovec and Zilcher all have something unexpected or piquant about them, although they are technically straightforward and a joy to play.

For intermediate-level pianists.

Piano Moods is an exciting new piano series from Boosey & Hawkes. Each volume is devoted to a particular mood. The pieces chosen draw on Boosey & Hawkes' extensive collection of wonderful music as well as lesser-known gems from the past - some of them from surprising sources - and newly composed works.


  • Bartók: Melody with interruptions (from Mikrokosmos III)
  • Benda: Presto (from Sonata IX)
  • Prokofieff: Rain and the rainbow (from Musiques d'enfants op. 65 no. 8)
  • Heller: Vivace op. 47 no. 7
  • Anonymus (early 17th century): Dance and Afterdance (from Klavierbuch der Jungfrau
  • Regina Clara im Hoff)
  • Grieg: Siri Dale song op. 66 no. 4
  • Binkerd: Country Dance
  • Liszt: Resignazione
  • Bartók: Scherzo (from Mikrokosmos III)
  • Telemann: Presto (from TWV 30:25)
  • Gurlitt: Impromptu op. 224 no. 5
  • Mozart: Funeral March for Signor Maestro Contrapunto
  • Tchaikovsky: The peasant plays the mouth-organ (from Album pour enfants op. 39 no. 13)
  • Benjamin: Silent and soft and slow descends the snow -Davies: Piano piece no. 23
  • D. Scarlatti: Sonata K 431
  • Gounod: Bagpipers
  • Bartók: Bagatelle op. 6 no. 4
  • Tomás de Sancta Maria: Fantasia
  • Andriessen: Base
  • Schumann: Theme and variations op. 118 no. 1
  • Zilcher: Good humour op. 93 no. 5
  • Jean-Babtiste Loeillet (of London): Hornpipe
  • Davies: Piano Piece no. 16
  • Cui: À la Schumann op. 20 no.. 4
  • Birtwistle: Dance of the metro-gnome
  • Rameau: Les tricotets (from Pièces de clavecin 3)
  • Jirovec: Waltzes 1 and 6
  • Sjögren: Andante tranquillo
  • Clementi: Allegro (from op. 36 no. 2)
  • Kenins: Sad clown
  • Fibich: Poco allegretto
  • Binkerd: Something serious
  • Zilcher: Scherzo op. 44 no. 2
  • Schubert: Two écossaises D 299 Nr. 7 und 8

Item Details

Category: Classical Piano Albums
Publisher: Boosey & Hawkes
Publisher's reference: BH 11903
Part of the Piano Moods series
Our Stock Code: 1324358
Media Type: Paperback (56 pages [score])

20% off Selected Schott Titles20% off Selected Schott Titles