Call Us: 020 8662 8400
Our showroom is now open for instrument trials by appointment - Book an Appointment

Fairy-Tale Pictures, Op113


From the Publisher

Remarks in his household books indicate that Robert Schumann (1810–1856) composed the Märchenbilder (Fairy-Tale Pictures) for piano and viola (or violin) op. 113 in just four days between 1st and 4th March, 1851, in Düsseldorf. Schumann only gradually came to the title Märchenbilder. The four pieces are unified by their shared opus number and keys (D minor, F major, D minor, D major), but the first edition published them in two volumes (Vol. 1: Nos. 1 and 2; Vol. 2: Nos. 3 and 4). Clearly, the Märchenbilder op. 113 do not need to be performed as a group but can be played in pairs or individually. The present arrangement is based upon the viola part. The viola's ambitus, when transposed up an octave, matches that of the flute. Solutions from the violin part have also been used on occasion. The double stops in the second piece were, for example, already simplified in the violin version. At such points the violin part provides a model for further simplifications in the flute part. 

Our Description

Marchenbuilder - 4 pieces originally for piano and viola

Difficulty guide: 7-8
Difficulty level, roughly compared to ABRSM exam grades. 0 is beginner, 9 is advanced (beyond grade 8).


  1. Nicht Schnell
  2. Lebhaft
  3. Rasch
  4. Langsam, mit melancholischen Ausdruck

Item Details


  • Part 1: Flute
  • Part 2: Piano
Category: Romantic Flute and Piano Music
Publisher: Universal Edition
Publisher's reference: UE36380
Our Stock Code: 1369786
Media Type: Paperback (22 pages [score])