Call Us: 020 8662 8400
Planning on visiting us? Please book an appointment prior to travelling.
** Royal Mail international shipments are subject to delays. If you require your order urgently please select an alternative shipping carrier.**

Elégie arranged for Flute and Piano, Op3 No1

You currently have cookies turned off in your browser. You won't be able to place an order until you turn them back on.
  • Staff Pick

Staff Pick

“A lovely transcription.”

Chris Hankin Just Flutes staff member - [email protected]

Alena Walentin is fast becoming an accomplished arranger as this lovely transcription of  Rachmaninoff's Elegie shows. The soaring melodic line has been captured skillfully from the original piano score, and the accompaniment scaled down sensitively. This is great recital material and sure to please all audiences.

Our Description

Morceaux de fantaisie, Op. 3, is a set of five solos piano piees composed by Rachmaninoff in 1892.  The set is dedicated to Anton Arensky, Rachmaninoff’s harmony teachers at the Conservatory in Moscow.

Elegie, the first piece of the set, is characterised by soaring melodies, rich orchestration and chromatic late Romantic harmonies.  Beautiful, sad and passionate, with melodies that touch one’s heart and don’t let go until the final chord.

"Music is enough for a lifetime - but a lifetime is not enough for music." - Sergei Rachmaninoff

"Alena is a wonderfully accomplished player with the most beautiful round and expressive sound showing a huge range of colours, moods and dynamics with evident ease.  She has excellent technique which never lets you for a moment think she might find anything difficult! ... her seamless legato with that lovely liquid golden, round sound always taking one through her musical phrasing." - British Flute Society

Performance duration (approx): 5'00

Difficulty guide: 7-8
Difficulty level, roughly compared to ABRSM exam grades. 0 is total beginner, 9 is advanced (beyond grade 8).

Item Details


  • Part 1: Flute
  • Part 2: Piano
Category: Romantic Flute and Piano Music
Publisher: Just Flutes Edition
Publisher's reference: JFE011
Our Stock Code: 1435474
Media Type: Paperback (7 pages [score])

Don't Dream. Play - 12 months' 0% Finance on Selected FlutesDon't Dream. Play - 12 months' 0% Finance on Selected Flutes

20% off all Chester titles20% off all Chester titles