Call Us: 020 8662 8400
Planning on visiting us? Please book an appointment prior to travelling.
** Royal Mail international shipments are subject to delays. If you require your order urgently please select an alternative shipping carrier.**

Dance Preludes for Clarinet Quartet

You currently have cookies turned off in your browser. You won't be able to place an order until you turn them back on.

From the Publisher

Originally written in 1954 for clarinet and piano, Lutoslawski subsequently made two orchestral versions. One closely adheres to the original with the clarinet as soloist; the other, made in 1959 for a larger group, breaks up the solo line and shares it between several instruments. All five movements are based on Polish folk dance rhythms if not actual folk tunes. Lutoslawski has not identified them but they follow the general dictum that ‘the tempo of Polish folksongs changes almost from bar to bar’. This version has been arranged for clarinet quartet by one of the Flanders Clarinet Quartet members, Karel Plessers. The solo part is played entirely by the first clarinet.

Item Details

Category: Clarinet Quartet Music
Publisher: Metropolis Music Publishers
Publisher's reference: CQ6443EM
Our Stock Code: 1559248
Media Type: Paperback