Call Us: 020 8662 8400
Planning on visiting us? Please book an appointment prior to travelling.

Concerto "Dances with the Winds" for Flute and Piano, Op. 69

You currently have cookies turned off in your browser. You won't be able to place an order until you turn them back on.
  • Staff Pick

Staff Pick

“Atmospheric and difficult!”

Chris Hankin Just Flutes staff member - [email protected]

This is a very atmospheric concerto written by the Finnish composer Einojuhani Rautavaara. His style has been described as 'mythical and austere' and this is reflected in the colour and variety in each of the four substantial movements. The complexity of the writing together with the use of all four standard flutes represents a serious challenge to the performer but the result is a fantastically rich and exciting work that will delight audiences everywhere.. 

From the Publisher

Rautavaara's  Concerto for Flutes and Orchestra (1973) employs the use of all four standard flutes, pushing each to its limits in range and dynamics. The first movement, Andantino, begins with a short flute cadenza quickly whirling up into an orchestral sound full of drama and mysticism. A middle section featuring the bass flute follows before the C flute ends the movement. The Vivace features the piccolo in a slightly manic, carnival-inspired theme while the alto flute dominates the third movement with a soulful, choral-like melody. The final movement begins with a cataclysmic piano crescendo before the bass flute brings back the mysticism of the first movement, only interrupted by a C flute middle section reminiscent of the piccolo theme. The piece ends with a dark Bb minor chord while the soloist remains alienated playing a long D natural that fades back into silence.


Performance duration (approx): 20'00

Difficulty guide: 9
Difficulty level, roughly compared to ABRSM exam grades. 0 is total beginner, 9 is advanced (beyond grade 8).

Item Details


  • Part 1: Flute
  • Part 2: Piano
Category: Contemporary Flute and Piano Music
Publisher: Breitkopf & Härtel
Publisher's reference: EB 8912
Our Stock Code: 1411362
Media Type: Paperback (28 pages [score])

20% off Novello music20% off Novello music

20% off IMC music20% off IMC music