Call Us: 020 8662 8400
Planning on visiting us? Please book an appointment before travelling.

Concerto in F major for Bassoon and Piano, Op.75

You currently have cookies turned off in your browser. You won't be able to place an order until you turn them back on.

From the Publisher

The bassoon concerto by Weber ranks second only to that of Mozart in importance. Since first appearing in print in 1823 it has been republished many times; however the version in which it is generally known today is an anonymously edited one dating from some 40 years after the composer's death which differs in many points of detail from the composer's original. The aim of this edition is to restore Weber's text free of any editorial intervention. Weber, then 25 years old, wrote the work in Munich between the 14th & 27th November 1811 at the request of the bassoonist Georg Friedrich Brandt (1773- 1836). The first performance took place in the Court theatre on December 28th, a fair copy of his score being made for the purpose. Having kept his own score by him for 11 years, Weber gave it in 1822 to his Berlin publisher Schlesinger, who issued it the following year in parts. More experienced now, and having heard Brandt play it in Prague, he took the opportunity to carry out a few revisions, expanding the tuttis here and there and rescoring some of the accompaniments; however he made only few minor alterations to the solo part. The 1823 first edition conforms closely to this revised version.
ln the present edition, the solo part is based on the 1822 revision; a few minor errors and inconsistencies have been corrected, and the 1823 first edition has been referred to throughout. The composer's orthography has been retained, including his disposition of beams & flags, which often subtly seems to indicate phrasing. At first sight Weber appears inconsistent with his markings; it is evident however that, while meticulously marking certain passages, elsewhere he has deliberately left his interpreter free to determine matters of articulation and accentuation according to his own preference and technique. Needless to say, the absence of such marks does not mean that the player does not need to supply them! lt is to be hoped that such passages, free of composer's prescription and editor's suggestion alike, will stimulate the performer's initiative and imagination. (William Waterhouse)

Approved Exam Music

Recommended for the following exam grade(s):

ABRSM ABRSM Bassoon (from 2022)
Grades: 7, 8


  • Allegro ma non troppo
  • Adagio
  • Rondo Allegro

Item Details


  • Part 1: Bassoon
  • Part 2: Piano
Category: Bassoon Repertoire
Publisher: Universal Edition
Publisher's reference: UE18131
Our Stock Code: 1494266
Media Type: Paperback

20% off Wonderful Winds Publications20% off Wonderful Winds Publications