Call Us: 020 8662 8400
Last order dates to receive your items for Christmas

Concerto a Quadro for Flute, Violin, Viola and Cello

You currently have cookies turned off in your browser. You won't be able to place an order until you turn them back on.
  • Interesting, worth a look

Our Description

This previously unpublished Concerto a quadro presumably started life as a concerto for the standard Baroque forces of flute, strings and continuo. Not preserved in its original form, it survives in a version for flute, violin, viola and cello in a set of manuscript parts apparently copied by an amateur musician in Sweden and now part of Christopher Hogwood’s collection. Though unlikely to be Handel’s own work, as a rare early example of music for flute quartet it is an attractive extension to a repertoire otherwise dominated by the works of Mozart and his contemporaries. In the present publication, editorial figuring in the cello part allows for the possibility of expanding the texture with additional continuo instruments.

Difficulty guide: 7-8
Difficulty level, roughly compared to ABRSM exam grades. 0 is beginner, 9 is advanced (beyond grade 8).

Item Details


  • Part 1: Flute
  • Part 2: Violin
  • Part 3: Viola
  • Part 4: Cello
Category: Music for Flute Quartet (Flute, Violin, Viola, Cello)
Publisher: Edition HH
Publisher's reference: HH369
Our Stock Code: 1360097
Media Type: Paperback - Score and parts