Call Us: 020 8662 8400
Planning on visiting us? Please book an appointment before travelling.

Complete Sonatas for Keyboard, Volumes 1-4

You currently have cookies turned off in your browser. You won't be able to place an order until you turn them back on.

From the Publisher

The composer, pianist and piano teacher Leopold Koželuch (1747-1818) was one of the leading Czech musicians in 18th-century Vienna. His 50 sonatas for keyboard bear witness not only to the transition from the harpsichord or clavichord to the pianoforte, but also to the evolution of the classical sonata at the turn of the 19th century.

Until now there have been few modern editions of this music. Our new edition, prepared by Christopher Hogwood, is the first to present all of Koželuch’s sonatas for solo keyboard.

Each of the four volumes contains 12 to 13 sonatas in chronological order by date of initial publication.

  • First complete edition of the sonatas for keyboard.
  • Suitable for professionals and amateurs alike.
  • Ideal for teaching purposes
  • Detailed Foreword (Eng/Cz/Ger), Critical Commentary (Eng) and facsimile pages

Overview of contents: Complete Sonatas for Keyboard:
Volume I | BA 9511 | 12 sonatas from the years 1780-1784.
Volume II | BA 9512 | 12 sonatas from the years 1784-1786.
Volume III | BA 9513 | 13 sonatas from the years 1788-1797.
Volume IV | BA 9514 | 9 sonatas from the years 1807-1809; 4 sonatas from the 1770s

Item Details


  • Part 1: Piano
Category: Piano Repertoire
Publisher: Bärenreiter
Publisher's reference: BA9515
Our Stock Code: 1496901
Media Type: Paperback

20% off selected Schott Publications20% off selected Schott Publications