Call Us: 020 8662 8400
We remain open by appointment only for the time being.
Book An Appointment or Video Consultation

Clarinet Concerto for Clarinet and Piano, Op. 9

  • New
You currently have cookies turned off in your browser. You won't be able to place an order until you turn them back on.

Approved Exam Music

Recommended for the following exam grade(s):

ABRSM exam syllabus

From the Publisher

The Clarinet Concerto Op.9 in G minor was composed in 1940 and marks the presence of two important people in Ruth''s life at that time. The first, her future husband Robert Baker who is the dedicatee and the second, Ralph Vaughan Williams who Ruth was studying with at the Royal College of Music. The first movement is full of driving energy in contrast with some rather beautiful lyrical moments and the third movement is very reminiscent of a English Jig. It is the middle movement, however, that shows the importance of Robert and Ralph. The duet between oboe and solo clarinet is the blossoming romance between Ruth and Robert, while the tonality and pastoral nature of the movement as a whole is in many ways a homage to Ralph.' - Peter Cigleris

Performance duration (approx): 15'30

Item Details


  • Part 1: Bb Clarinet
  • Part 2: Piano
Category: Music for Bb Clarinet and Piano
Publisher: Emerson Edition
Publisher's reference: E743
Our Stock Code: 1491708
Media Type: Paperback - Score and parts

Save 25% on selected Schott publications.Save 25% on selected Schott publications

Save 25% on selected BG France Accessories.Save 25% on selected BG France Accessories.

Save 20% on Faber Music.Save 20% on Faber Music