Call Us: 020 8662 8400
Planning on visiting us? Instrument trials by appointment only: book an appointment

The O'Carolan Book: 15 Pieces for Flute (or Violin) and Piano
Includes Online Audio

You currently have cookies turned off in your browser. You won't be able to place an order until you turn them back on.

From the Publisher

Unlike any other, Turlough O'Carolan (1670-1738) knew how to combine old Irish music with Italian Baroque music which the high society liked to listen to at that time. The use of little repeating motifs, the kind of melody and way of tension building reveal Carolan's sense and knowledge of the styles of playing typical of the Baroque period. These Baroque influences in his harp music became his unmistakable trademark. Thus, he created a whole new genre, as it were: the Celtic Classics.

Difficulty guide: 5-7
Difficulty level, roughly compared to ABRSM exam grades. 0 is beginner, 9 is advanced (beyond grade 8).


  • Sheebeg and Sheemore
  • Princess Royal
  • All Alive
  • Clergy´s Lamentation
  • Blind Mary
  • Squire Woods Lamentation on the Refusal of his Halfpence
  • Planxty Kelly
  • Carolan´s Quarrel with the Landlady
  • Lament for Terence MacDonough
  • Mrs Anne MacDermott Roe
  • Kean O´Hara
  • Planxty Lady Wrixon
  • Carolan´s Concerto
  • Morgan Magan
  • Carolan´s Dream

Item Details


  • Part 1: Flute or Violin
  • Part 2: Piano
Category: Irish Folk Flute Music
Publisher: Schott
Publisher's reference: ED 20201D
Our Stock Code: 1518870
Media Type: Paperback (36 pages [score]); includes accompaniment Online Audio