Call Us: 020 8662 8400
Planning on visiting us? Please book an appointment before travelling.

Capriol-Suite for Flute Quartet

You currently have cookies turned off in your browser. You won't be able to place an order until you turn them back on.
  • Staff Pick

Staff Pick

“This works!”

Chris Hankin Just Flutes staff member - [email protected]

Warlock's Capriol Suite has been expertly arranged for four flutes by Wolfgang Kossack and his expertise ensures that the theme in each movement always shines through. Mainly set out as first flute with accompaniment, other parts also have their chance to shine and the alto flute is pitched low enough to provide ample weight to the textures. It also looks approachable on the page which is very useful. It's always a treat to find transcribed classic repertoire that's successful and this really works!

From the Publisher

The British composer Peter Warlock, whose real name was Philip Arnold Heseltine, was born in London in 1894. As a pupil at Eton College, which he hated with a passion, he met the British composer Frederick Delius, who exerted his first formative influences on the young Heseltine. After leaving school, he soon gave up his attempts to study in Oxford and London and initially tried his hand as a music journalist and composer.   His wealthy background allowed him to lead a dandyish life in keeping with his inclinations. His character could probably best be described as erratic, passionate and unsteady, with which he eventually achieved dubious fame. His friendship with D.H. Lawrence, the author of the scandalous novel "Lady Chatterley", influenced and probably encouraged him in a lifestyle that was considered highly scandalous by the extremely prudish British society. Reports of drunken excesses and lavish orgies occasionally called the police.

Nevertheless, Peter Warlock made a great contribution to British music, both as a researcher, biographer and composer. Throughout his life, he was unable to commit himself to one field of activity, so that Frederick Delius, who recognised his great talent, advised him to choose either the profession of music critic or composer. Driven by inner restlessness, he often changed his place of residence, sought inspiring influences and gradually created his compositional work. In the process, he repeatedly experienced depressive phases triggered by diminishing creativity. In December 1930, Heseltine, alias Peter Warlock, died in his London flat of suspected suicide as a result of gas poisoning.

His most popular work is the "Capriol Suite" from 1926, which is available in several versions due to its great success and has spawned numerous adaptations. Originally written for two pianos, the versions for string and symphony orchestra were written by Warlock himself.

The composition is based on Renaissance dances and consists of 6 very different dances.

For this arrangement for flute quartet, I have strictly adhered to the specifications of the score of the original, but of course changes were necessary to adapt it to the possibilities of a flute quartet.

Difficulty guide: 5-7
Difficulty level, roughly compared to ABRSM exam grades. 0 is total beginner, 9 is advanced (beyond grade 8).


  1. Basse - Danse
  2. Pavane
  3. Tordion
  4. Bransles
  5. Pieds-en-l'air
  6. Mattachins (sword dance)

Item Details


  • Part 1: Flute
  • Part 2: Flute
  • Part 3: Flute
  • Part 4: Alto Flute
Category: Flute Quartet Music: Four Mixed Flutes
Publisher: Edition Kossack
Publisher's reference: EK95115
Our Stock Code: 1677706
Media Type: Paperback - Score and parts (16 pages [score])

20% off Barenreiter20% off Barenreiter

15% off the new ABRSM Syllabus15% off the new ABRSM Syllabus

The Sir James Galway Special SelectionThe Sir James Galway Special Selection