Call Us: 020 8662 8400
Planning on visiting us? Please book an appointment prior to travelling.
** Royal Mail strike action may affect deliveries on Thursday 13th October. If you require your order urgently please select an alternative shipping carrier **

Canzon Septimi Toni a8

You currently have cookies turned off in your browser. You won't be able to place an order until you turn them back on.

From the Publisher

Saxophone Octet SSAATTBB . Giovanni Gabrieli composed his Canzon septimi toni for the majestic St. Mark's Cathedral in Venice, where he was organist and principal composer from 1585 until his death. It comes from a collection of music for brass that Gabrieli composed for church use and published in 1597 under the title Sacrae symphoniae . The pieces in the collection are for various combinations of trumpets and trombones, whose players would have been placed antiphonally inside St. Mark's to take advantage of the church's acoustics and to clarify the dialogic musical structure of works such as the Canzon . This arrangement recreates the antiphonal effects using two sax quartets. The two groups sometimes alternate and sometimes overlap, using rich contrapuntal textures to build the music to a grand climax. Separating the two groups spatially adds yet more interest to the aural experience. Not technically difficult (in concert Bb major), but the use of minim time signatures and the complex polyphony make it musically more challenging.
Difficulty guide: 0-4
Difficulty level, roughly compared to ABRSM exam grades. 0 is beginner, 9 is advanced (beyond grade 8).

Item Details

Category: Saxophone Choir (5+ Saxes)
Publisher: Forton Music
Publisher's reference: FM137
Our Stock Code: 1409154
Media Type: Paperback