Call Us: 020 8662 8400
Planning on visiting us? Please book an appointment prior to travelling.
** Royal Mail strike action will cause delays in December. If you require your order urgently please select an alternative shipping carrier **

Breath and Bars

You currently have cookies turned off in your browser. You won't be able to place an order until you turn them back on.

Our Description

This piece consists of three parts which merge into one another. While long, wave-like lines float horizontally in the "Prelude", it is the vertical element which dominates the "Trialogue". The three instruments are entering a distinctly polyphone fight wrapped in a dry, ironic fugato.The final part, "Milonga", combines a touch of Argentinian tango with innermost lyric expression. This piece is part of the series "Flute and percussion", and it is of advanced difficulty. Jean Sevriens, born in the Netherlands in 1959, studied musicology and classical guitar. His artistic work comprises works for orchestra as well as chamber music, compositions for vocals, solo pieces for various instruments as well as Argentinian tango, jazz music and soundtracks for films.

Difficulty guide: 8-9
Difficulty level, roughly compared to ABRSM exam grades. 0 is beginner, 9 is advanced (beyond grade 8).

Item Details


  • Part 1: Flute
  • Part 2: Vibraphone
  • Part 3: Marimba
Category: Music for Flute and Other Percussion
Publisher: Zimmermann Frankfurt
Publisher's reference: ZM34810
Our Stock Code: 1138948
Media Type: Paperback